Cenk Uygur

(Pronounced “Jenk” “You-Grrr”)

Cenk Uygur is the host and founder of The Young Turks, the largest online news show in the world, and CEO of TYT Network. With a verified global audience of more than 200 million views a month and 8 billion total video views, TYT Network is considered one of the most watched online news networks in the world.

Uygur launched The Young Turks as a talk show on Sirius Satellite Radio in 2002 and The Young Turks became YouTube’s first ever partner channel in 2006. Since then, The Young Turks has become the longest running daily stream online, as the leading news and politics show for young, progressive viewers.

Most recently, Uygur was recognized by the Los Angeles Business Journal as one of 500 most influential people in Los Angeles. In 2017, The Young Turks received best in News and Culture at the 7th Annual Streamy Awards, won the 21st Annual People’s Voice Webby Award for Online Film & Video – News & Politics series, and was recognized with the Audience Honor at the 10th Annual Shorty Awards under Overall YouTube Presence.  

He was named #25 in Mediaite’s 2017 list of Most Influential in Media. In 2016, Uygur received the Champion in Media: Fifth Estate award at the inaugural Multicultural Correspondents Dinner. In 2015, he was named #21 in Mediaite’s 25 Most Influential People in Political News list, Variety’s FameChangers, and The Hollywood Reporter’s NextGen 50 list. Uygur has amassed numerous recognitions by the Webby Awards, Shorty Awards, and Streamys for The Young Turks and as a web personality/host.

He has also appeared as a political commentator on CNN, ABC News’ This Week with George Stephanopoulos, NPR, Headline News, E!, Al Jazeera, Voice of America, WNYC’s The Brian Lehrer Show and Fox News Channel.

Uygur was the host of The Young Turks on Current TV, which was the most popular show on the channel’s two-year run. Prior to Current TV, Uygur was the host of MSNBC Live at 6pm ET. Uygur graduated from the Wharton School of Business at University of Pennsylvania and from Columbia Law School.